JICHS Band.jpeg

News & Updates

Upcoming Events

August 2022

Band Students and Parents:

WELCOME to one of the most exciting experiences in which you can be a part – THE BAND!

The ultimate goal of the band program is to provide our students with a lifelong understanding and appreciation for quality music and music making.  In addition, we get to use the medium of music to teach some wonderful life lessons as part of our comprehensive program here at James Island Charter High School. 

Last school year was full of successes by our students:

·         We had the largest number of students in Region and All-State band in school history

·         All 3 performing ensembles received Superior Ratings at their Assessments this year - with Jazz Band and Symphonic Winds receiving Superior with Distinction - the first time this has happened in in school history

·         We went on a Band Trip to New Orleans and came home with all the awards! Jazz Band earned the highest score of all the performing ensembles at the competition. And both bands combined to earn the Sweepstakes Award for the school with the highest total scores!

·         We hosted CPA for the first time in school history.

We continue to provide a well-rounded, comprehensive experience for our students. For the upcoming year, we are very excited to continue to build on our successes and create a stronger musical program. 

 

I am honored to be your band director and am looking forward to a great year!

Musically Yours,

Dr. Gretchen Bowles

Facebook

Director of Bands

James Island Charter High School

1000 Fort Johnson Road, Charleston, SC, USA

gretchen_bowles.c@charleston.k12.sc.us

(843)762-5216

jichsband.org

​October

  • PIB Rehearsal Monday Oct. 3 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • PIB - Football vs. May River Friday Oct. 7 (4:00 - 10:30 pm) 8th Grade Night

  • Jazz Winds - Rehearsal Tuesday Oct. 11 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • Jazz Band - Rehearsal Tuesday Oct. 18 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • PIB Rehearsal Monday Oct. 24 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • Concert AND Symphonic Rehearsal Wednesday Oct. 26 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • October Concert - w/ CRMS Thursday Oct. 27 (6:00 - 9:00 pm)

  • PIB - Football vs. Lucy Beckham Friday Oct. 28 (4:00 - 10:30 pm) Senior Night

 

November

  • Jazz Band - Rehearsal  Tuesday Nov. 15 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

  • Folly Parade Rehearsal Thursday Nov. 17 (4:00-6:00 pm)

  • Jazz Band - Rehearsal Tuesday, Nov. 29 (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

 

December

  • JI Tree Lighting (Jazz Band) Thursday, Dec. 1 (7:00 pm)

  • Parade Rehearsal Friday, Dec. 2 (4:00-6:00 pm)

  • Symphonic - Rehearsal Monday, Dec. 5 (4:00 pm - 6:00 pm)

  • Percussion/Jazz Concert Tuesday, Dec 6 (7:00 pm)

  • Concert/Symphonic Winter Concert Thursday, Dec. 8 (7:00 pm)

  • Parade Rehearsal Friday, Dec. 9 (4:00 pm - 6:00 pm)

  • Folly Beach Parade Saturday, Dec. 10  - TBD

  • Winter Showcase Thursday, Dec. 15 (during school hours)